DANCIS: Full Form, Cadre, Salary, Exam Pattern, Exam syllabus, and Eligibility

The Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Civil Service (DANCIS) is a Group B cadre of civil services under the Government of India. DANICS officers are responsible for managing the affairs of the Union Territories of Delhi and Andaman and Nicobar Islands. In this article, we will discuss the DANICS full form, the DANICS cadre, the salary of a DANICS officer, the DANICS exam, the syllabus for the DANICS exam, and the eligibility criteria for the DANICS exam.


DANCIS Full Form:

The full form of DANICS –  “Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Civil Service”. It is a cadre of civil services under the Government of India that is responsible for managing the affairs of the Union Territories of Delhi and Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The DANICS cadre was created by the Government of India in 1963 to provide an administrative structure for the Union Territories of Delhi and Andaman and Nicobar Islands.


The DANICS cadre is responsible for various administrative functions such as law and order, revenue administration, and general administration. DANICS officers are appointed through the Civil Services Examination conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). The DANICS cadre is a Group B cadre, and DANICS officers are subordinate to Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officers.

The DANICS cadre has a total of 301 sanctioned posts, of which 166 are for the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCTD) and 135 are for the Union Territory DANCIS of Andaman and Nicobar Islands (UTANI). The DANICS cadre is divided into two parts, the Delhi Administration and the Andaman and Nicobar Islands Administration. DANICS officers are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor of Delhi and the Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Salary of a DANICS Officer:

The salary of a DANICS officer varies depending on their position and experience. The salary of a DANICS officer typically ranges from Rs. 56,100 to Rs. 2,18,200 per month. DANICS officers are entitled to DANCIS various allowances, such as Dearness Allowance, House Rent Allowance, and Travel Allowance, which are provided as per the Government of India’s rules and regulations.


To become a DANICS officer, one must qualify for the Civil Services Examination conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). The Civil Services Examination DANCIS is conducted in three stages, namely the preliminary exam, the mains exam, and the personality test. The Civil Services Examination is one of the toughest exams in India, and it requires extensive preparation and hard work to crack.

DANICS Exam Eligibility:

To be eligible for the DANICS exam, a candidate must fulfill certain eligibility criteria, which are as follows:

  • Nationality: The candidate who wishes to apply must be a citizen of India, a subject of Bhutan, a subject of Nepal, or a Tibetan refugee who came to India before 1st January 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India.
  • Age Limit: The candidate who wants to apply must be between 21 years and 32 years of age as of 1st August of the year of examination. There is a relaxation in the upper age limit for candidates belonging to certain categories such as SC, ST, OBC, and physically disabled candidates.
  • Educational Qualification: The candidate who wants to qualify must have a Bachelor’s degree from a recognized university. Candidates who are in their final year of graduation can also apply for the exam, provided they can produce the proof of passing the exam at the time of the personality test.

DANICS Exam Syllabus:

The syllabus for the DANICS exam is similar to the syllabus for the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) exam, but it focuses more on the administration of the Union Territories of Delhi and Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The syllabus for the DANICS exam is divided into two parts, namely the preliminary exam syllabus and the mains exam syllabus.

Read Also: DANIPS: Full Form, Eligibility, Requirements, Facilities, and Job Responsibilities

Preliminary Exam Syllabus:

The preliminary exam syllabus includes two papers, namely Paper-I and Paper-II. Both papers are of objective type and carry a maximum of 200 marks each. The duration of each paper is two hours.

Paper-I: General Studies

  1. Current events of national and international importance
  2. Indian history and culture
  3. Indian and world geography
  4. Indian polity and governance
  5. Economic and social development
  6. Environmental ecology and biodiversity
  7. General science

Paper-II: Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT)

  1. Comprehension
  2. Interpersonal skills including communication skills
  3. Logical reasoning and analytical ability
  4. Decision making and problem-solving
  5. General mental ability
  6. Basic numeracy
  7. English language comprehension skills

Mains Exam Syllabus:

The mains exam syllabus includes nine papers, which are divided into two parts, namely the compulsory papers and the optional papers.

Compulsory Papers:

Paper-A: Indian Language (300 marks)

Paper-B: English (300 marks)

Paper-I: Essay (250 marks)

Paper-II: General Studies-I (250 marks)

Paper-III: General Studies-II (250 marks)

Paper-IV: General Studies-III (250 marks)

Paper-V: General Studies-IV (250 marks)

Optional Papers:

  1. Agriculture (500 marks)
  2. Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science (500 marks)
  3. Anthropology (500 marks)
  4. Botany (500 marks)
  5. Chemistry (500 marks)
  6. Civil Engineering (500 marks)
  7. Commerce and Accountancy (500 marks)
  8. Economics (500 marks)
  9. Electrical Engineering (500 marks)
  10. Geography (500 marks)
  11. Geology (500 marks)
  12. History (500 marks)
  13. Law (500 marks)
  14. Management (500 marks)
  15. Mathematics (500 marks)
  16. Mechanical Engineering (500 marks)
  17. Medical Science (500 marks)
  18. Philosophy (500 marks)
  19. Physics (500 marks)
  20. Political Science and International Relations (500 marks)
  21. Psychology (500 marks)
  22. Public Administration (500 marks)
  23. Sociology (500 marks)
  24. Statistics (500 marks)
  25. Zoology (500 marks)

The DANICS exam is a highly competitive exam that requires a great deal of preparation and hard work. It offers candidates an opportunity to work in various administrative positions in the Delhi and Andaman and Nicobar Islands Administration and contribute to the development of the region.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *